back to news POSTED ON 05/12/2021

The Paul E. and Klare N. Reinhold Foundation, Inc. held its annual “Celebrate Clay” community service awards ceremony live online on April 27th, during which the Foundation distributed $100,000 and 47 community service awards to nonprofit organizations that provide services to Clay County residents.

IN THE PHOTO: George M. Egan, Reinhold Foundation Trustee presents the “2021 Paul E. Reinhold Community Service Award” to  Sandra Staudt-Killea, Executive Director, and Linda McKenzie, Volunteer Director, of Waste Not Want Not. (Paul E. Reinhold in photo).

“For 27 years the Reinhold Family has celebrated community service in Clay County at its annual awards program,” said J.F. Bryan IV, Chairman of the Foundation. “Usually, we gather with nearly 250 people for a hot breakfast and the awards ceremony. In response to the continued coronavirus challenges and in the interest of personal safety and community health, we chose to host this year’s ceremony live online.”

Waste Not Want Not captured the top honor this year, earning the $15,000 Paul E. Reinhold Community Service Award.

A panel of five judges including three volunteers from the community and two representatives on behalf of the Reinhold Foundation voted on the best projects and volunteers of 2020 to determine the winners of the $100,000 in cash awards. This year’s judges were: Irene Toto, CEO, Clay Behavioral Health Center and Kids First of Florida; Nina Waters, President, The Community Foundation for Northeast Florida; Jeremy Johnston, Executive Director, Clay County Utility Authority; Cotton Bryan, Reinhold Family Member; and John Myers, Reinhold Family Member and Foundation Trustee.

Applications were open to all nonprofit groups active in the First Coast Area that provided services to Clay County residents in 2020. The 47 winners included Clay County and regionally based nonprofits, churches, and school programs.

Congratulations to all of the 2021 “Celebrate Clay” awards winners (listed below).

 Paul E. Reinhold Community Service Award ($15,000):

Waste Not Want Not


Judges' Choice Program Awards ($7,000 each):

Challenge Enterprises

The Way Free Medical Clinic


Extraordinary Executive Director* ($7,000):

Don Fann, Executive Director, The Way Free Medical Clinic


Peggy Bryan Volunteer of the Year Award* ($7,000):

Jerry Kemp (posthumous award), Clay County Habitat for Humanity


Judges' Choice Volunteer Awards* ($3,500 each):

Lee Sackett, CJ Acres Animal Rescue Farm

Allene Zvara, Seamark Ranch


*Note: Volunteer and executive director awards recognize outstanding individuals for their community service. The cash awards are provided to the nominating nonprofit organization that they serve.


Special Judges' Awards ($2,000 each):

CJ Acres Animal Rescue

Clay County Habitat for Humanity

Clay County Humane Society

Episcopal Children’s Services

Hope Therapy

James Boys, Orange Park United Methodist Church

Mission of the Dirt Road

Project REACH Kids, Clay County School District

Quigley House

Seamark Ranch


Category Awards ($1,000 each):

Arts & Culture

Clamour Theatre Company

Concert on the Green

Oakleaf Village Elementary Music Program

Orange Park Community Theatre

Civic Programs

Clay County Agricultural Fair

Village Improvement Association GWFC Green Cove Springs

Community Programs

Food Pantry of Green Cove Springs

Hunger Fight

J.P. Hall Children’s Charities

McRae Elementary Weekend Food Program

Mercy Support Services

Education & Literacy

Clay County Education Foundation

Early Learning Coalition of N FL

Environment & Animal Advocacy

Safe Animal Shelter

Health & Human Services

Ascension St. Vincent’s Foundation


Community Health Outreach

Community Hospice & Palliative Care

Senior Citizens' Programs

Aging True Community Senior Services

Mobility Worldwide – PET FL Penney Farms

Senior Champions Fellowship Hall

Shepherd’s Center of Orange Park

Women’s Empowerment Services NE FL

Church Service Programs

Church of the Good Samaritan Anglican

The Clothes Closet of the Church Women’s Christian Ministries

Food Bridge – Middleburg United Methodist Church

St. Catherine’s Conference, Society St. Vincent de Paul

Accomplishments by Youth

Teen Court of Clay County

Service to Youth & Families

Orange Park Outfitters of Orange Park High School

Pace Center for Girls Clay


The Foundation created the “Celebrate Clay” awards program to honor the legacy of Paul and Klare Reinhold and to recognize, reward, and encourage community service within Clay County. The Foundation has awarded $965,000 to Celebrate Clay award recipients in the past twelve years,

The grant programs of The Paul E. & Klare N. Reinhold Foundation, Inc. support philanthropic and charitable organizations that work to improve the quality of life for Clay County residents.