about celebrate clay

a summary

Celebrate Clay was created in 2009 by The Paul E. & Klare N. Reinhold Foundation, Inc. to recognize, reward, and encourage community service within Clay County. Annual cash awards are presented to nonprofit groups providing outstanding services, as selected by a panel of judges who vote the best for that year. Since 2009, the Reinhold Foundation has awarded $965,000 to more than 100 nonprofit organizations at its annual “Celebrate Clay” community service awards breakfast.

Waste Not Want Not earned the Paul E. Reinhold Community Service Award of the year in 2021. Click below for the full list of 2021 recipients and the lists of past years' award recipients.

2021 Awards Program

$100,000 was awarded at the 2021 celebrate clay awards ceremony as follows

30 Category Awards


10 Special Judges' Program Awards


2 Outstanding Volunteer Awards


1 Peggy Bryan Volunteer of the Year


1 Extraordinary Executive Director


2 Judges' Choice Program Awards


1 Paul E. Reinhold Community Service of the Year Award


Award categories

  • Arts and Culture
  • Civic Community Service
  • Community Programs
  • Education and Literacy
  • Environment and Animal Welfare
  • Health and Human Services
  • Senior Services and Accomplishments
  • Church/Service Outreach Programs
  • Accomplishments By Youth
  • Service to Youth and Families

2021 judges

A panel of five judges including three volunteers from the community and two representatives on behalf of the Reinhold Foundation voted on the best projects and volunteers of 2020 to determine the winners of the $100,000 in cash awards. The 2021 judges were: Irene Toto, CEO, Clay Behavioral Health Center and Kids First of Florida; Nina Waters, President, The Community Foundation for Northeast Florida; Jeremy Johnston, Executive Director, Clay County Utility Authority; Cotton Bryan, Reinhold Family Member; and John Myers, Reinhold Family Member and Foundation Trustee.

(Photo shows 2020 Judges taken before covid-19 pandemic. No photo available of the 2021 Judges due to continued covid-19 pandemic.) 


To be eligible to apply, organizations must be a 501(c)(3) nonprofit and not a "private foundation” under Section 509(a) of the Internal Revenue Code. Every 501(c)(3) non-profit organization in the First Coast area, regardless of size, is eligible, as long as the project submitted actively supports citizens of Clay County and the sponsoring organization validates its 501(c)(3) tax-exempt status (including proof that it is not a "private foundation” under Section 509(a) of the IRC). Applications that do not contain proof of the organization’s 501(c)(3) status will not be accepted.


The Date

Celebrate Clay
Awards Breakfast

Tuesday, April 26, 2022



Contact Amy Parker

(904) 269-5857, Ext. 404